Minister for Maritime Duncan Gay has awarded this year’s Maritime Medals, recognising outstanding and sustained contributions to the boating community in NSW. The awards were presented on board the historic tall ship James Craig on Sydney Harbour.

“I congratulate all of this year’s nominees, who were all of a high standard and showed extraordinary commitment to the boating community,” Gay said. “The 2015 finalists were nominated by their peers, selected by highly regarded members of the boating community and are all well-deserved.”

This year’s winners were Captain Tim Swales and David Lyall in the community category and Peter Hunter in the safety category. Member for Manly Mike Baird congratulated Captain Swales from his electorate.

“Tim is a former Royal Navy submarine commander who has been Commodore of the Sydney Heritage Fleet since 1990,” Baird said.

“The Fleet that Tim commands, is an internationally acclaimed, volunteer based organisation, dedicated to preserving and keeping an active service of impressive vessels of historic significance.”

Member for Pittwater Rob Stokes was also proud of his local winner, David Lyall, who has been President and Commodore of Avalon Sailing Club where he has organised events and conducted training for people of all ages, including people with disabilities.

“David has also played leading roles and been a long-time advocate for safe, responsible and enjoyable boating through his volunteer work for Marine Rescue NSW and the Boat Owners Association.”

The third winner, Peter Hunter has been involved as a volunteer safety ambassador and advocate for safe, responsible and enjoyable use of personal watercraft (PWC) for more than 15 years. Peter’s work has contributed to improved safety outcomes in PWC use in NSW, which includes a decline in fatal incidents statewide.


– Boating Business Online